GW2: Launch and Mr. Meh’s Wish List


GW2 Launch went okay for me. I hear it went okay for lots of us. That seems like a success. If it wasn’t for free transfers, I would say the worrying and suffering would have been different.

I like many others just happen to take a nap Friday night, to awake a couple of minutes before Midnight. Sure enough, that special caveat that they were saving about opening 3 hours earlier wasn’t a lie. At midnight the servers opened. I, oh so delicately, made a very quick player, ignoring almost any custom designing to grab my name.

It was a good weekend overall. Levelling gets to be more annoying at times. I get set on completing an entire zone, and I keep running into Quest Areas that undoubtably seem well under-thought. I come into The Wildlands for the first time and there’s an area with an objective to Paint Frogs Blue. And then goto another area in which in wants me to kill Ogres. There are no Ogres. I have to resort to 20 mins of picking up Charr Supplies that spawn for little influence in an empty area.

Overall, I didn’t do much of story line paying attention during Beta, but took some time to listen this go. I have to say, again, much like RIFT, I much unimpressed with the story. Immersion is hard when you took all this time to write a story that makes Twilight seem deep and meaningful. I don’t get cute-sy theme park stories. Your game is played by adults. That’s just my beef. I want to like the story, I really do, but my lack of vagina keeps me from it.

As of Midnight last night I was Level 34. Top people in my guild were rounding the mid 50s.

And with that I get into my first GW2 Wish List:

WvWvW

You have multiple issues here. Mostly that the statistics and real-time data suck. It’s kind of like looking at the front number of the NASDAQ, truly, unless you are an idiot, this number means nothing if you have actual investments. Same goes for WvWvW. Oh look a Pie Chart, I know what I must do! Oh look NASDAQ is up, let me call my broker and tell him to buy something. Anything, clearly I can’t lose.

WvWvW is split in 4 ways. You have the middle map that is a 3 way server battle for domination. Then you have 3 repeat zones that represent a Home World for each Server present.

Currently WvWvW queues are a little bit ridiculous. What makes it sadder is you don’t even know what area needs help or which queues are lower. Maybe if we did, we could space out  the wait times.

We need more stats. Like how many are where and what are the approximate queue times.

I would personally like a more detailed stat display that outlined the points and the rewards. But, queue times would be nice.

Kill XP versus Chopping a Tree XP

Oh look 3 mobs. Oh look a tree. Guess which one you should pick?

I’m not saying nerf XP on gathering. I’m just saying, that killing mobs takes longer to gain XP than almost any other method.

Random Charr: I just spent 30 minutes battling my way out of that Ogre Encampment. I barely escaped with my life. But I did get 600XP!

Random Asura: I just spent 5 minutes climbing that staircase to that Point of Interest and received 750XP.

Think it’s worth it to take on a veteran or worse a champion? Nope. You are better off finding 2 nodes of mining. In some cases 1 is enough.

Though I did find a sort of broken NPC area. The clusters are packed and respawn ridiculously fast. Alone, you will die no matter what. In a group of 3, bring your XP bonuses and go at it. 6 levels in an hour. I hate my life, but I did it.

PvP Gear

Don’t make me go into dungeons. Please, please don’t do it. Give us PVP gear. Please!

2 thoughts on “GW2: Launch and Mr. Meh’s Wish List

    • No. Massive misconception. Early on, people were spouting random unfounded ideas that PVP was to remain perfectly equal. Which immediate turned me and many others off. If I spend 20 hours a week and you spend 1 hour a month, we are not equal.

      Structured PVP base lines your base stats to 80 and moves your armor/weapon stats to a base 80 rating. They try to make SPVP as even as possible. Even numbers, even stats, even everything.

      Open World PVP, WvWvW only brings your base stats to 80. Your armor/weapon stats are what they are.

      So I’m 70 and you’re 30. We will both be put to 80, but I’ll be wearing 70 gear and you’ll be wearing 30.

      WvW is going to be a ton of fun. But I really want PVP gear available. I don’t want to do PVE just to be formatible on the open field of battle.

Leave a Reply

