Post 1.2 Thoughts


As expected the boost to Guardians/Juggernaut also helped boost an already stronger than needed Sentinel/Marauder population. Pre 1.2, one  Mara was already enough to make me never want to heal again. Add more DPS and a non cleansable heal debuff and you can guarantee I wasn’t excited.

The effects have been a new experience. In many ways I enjoy the PVP changes. In most other ways, I see far too many difficulties. The obvious flavor Post 1.2 is Warriors/Knights. With their new found DPS, capable of killing you in 3 GCDs in many cases, anything below heavy armor has difficulties. Meaning without guard, you probably aren’t going to make it. Which is what you’ll find on the forums. Many are calling the new system not so much a healing nerf as in a force to play better. I tend to disagree and agree in parts. Yes, you can’t just be an invincible healing bot. But no, it’s not a good system to require healers to find Premades for Guard just to be somewhat successful.

I spent most of the weekend and yesterday building up a full set of Battle Master and started aiming on receiving my first War Hero item on my Sage. Where I loved my Sage Pre 1.2, I’m starting to resent him after. The amount of CC, is beyond what I can combat. I literally explode very fast, even with full Battle Master. This constant new experience of instantly dying and the facing of newly improved DPS Mercenaries, had my log on to my once thought of retired Commando.

Sporting a Valor Rank of 58 and gear mixed with Champion and Centurion, I expected to run into quite a few problems in PVP. Being on the 4th lowest population server, there are only roughly 2 Warzones going on at any one time. Meaning, that those that are the best stay the best. And currently on Bondar Crystal, the Empire has a new formation guild called B.A.D, and these guys are nothing but. Some of which I know from Warhammer, others are an accumulation of decent skill and coordination.  I won very few with them on the other side. When I logged in on my Commando, I knew my Warzone options had a very high chance of meeting this group. Still, I queued with guildies; Healing Commando, Guardian (just bought a War Hero Lightsaber, no joke) and a DPS Sage.

In 3 back to back warzones, I did well. Things that I noticed:

My Sage seemed to always be primary. They would jump through 4 opponents to get to me in many cases. On my Commando, very little stopped to even care about me, more than some CC to hold me back. Which, I realized from my own DPSing ways. Find the lowest armored opponents first. You cut down their numbers and therefore win the field faster. No wonder my Sage was first down, I was going after Sorcs first as well.

The DPS has (as predicted) very much improved. The 10% nerf to Grav Round is minimal, and the effects of Demolition Round are heavily increased. The new changes to Mortar Round are ridiculous. It is lightening fast and hits for 5 hits instead of 3. It’s absolutely amazingly strong. Compare this to the Sage’s AOE and you are talking giant differences. Cast time, Proc timing, and Damage Values, almost double in values across the board.

I was never able to be top DPS and in most cases not able to out DPS or Heal my Sage, but, the single target focus is much better. Now that Sage/Sorcs are out, and Maras/Sents are in, having Heavy Armor is a big deal. It’s now real survivability. And doing Tech damage and with the passive ability to bypass much of an opponent’s armor, the abilities of the Commando are looking better with the changes in the flavor of the month classes.

It’s a sad road. Go back 4 days, and I would now be full Battlemaster on my Commando instead, but I have another route of grinding to attend to. Hopefully I can catch my Commando up.

Overall patch 1.2 has some quick tweaks that it needs:

Civil War: The 3 Second Wait for riding side speeders to outside nodes was removed. Needs to be put back in.

Combating AFKers by making a 3 medal requirement has adversely encouraged players to giving up much faster. Now when players simply get outright beaten in a couple of fights, they simply give up and pile up on 1 node, trying to get their 3 to 4 medals for defending. Healers, try and hurt themselves to see if they can get their 1 to 2 healing medals to match.

Expertise bonus to damage is getting out of hand. 20% boost is basically ridiculous. One fresh 50 in your warzone is likely to lose you the entire match. Two guarantees it. Without open PVP, these players have no other way to earn gear, making them forced to contribute to losses.

4 thoughts on “Post 1.2 Thoughts

  1. Hello,
    Nice blog! Discovered it a few days ago and I’ve found some of your posts to be quite interesting.

    I’m new to this game but hardocre PvPer in other mmos, and I’d like to ask a few things that concern me after reading your posts and leveling a scoundrel to level 30:

    – Is the “equipment wall” into organized pvp harsh for a fresh 50? You mention that I will lose wz for my team while gearing up, that honestly sucks.
    – Do scoundrels (both healers and scrappers) have a legitimate place in high level group pvp? You rarely mention them, and at low levels I find the healer quite strong, but the scrapper has very low dps/burst/mobility. I’m considering to cut my losses and reroll a sage or sorc before investing more time in this char.
    – On the server I picked, rep loses like 90% of the warzones, and it’s almost impossible to find groups for flash points. Does this tendency continue at 50?

    Thanks and keep ranting!

    • Hello,

      “Is the “equipment wall” into organized pvp harsh for a fresh 50? You mention that I will lose wz for my team while gearing up, that honestly sucks.”

      In a way. If you are fresh 50 with terrible gear, then yes. You are going to have a really hard time. You Lose to Win ratio will be awful. Here’s the good news for those leveling toons. You can purchase Battlemaster gear pre50. So, do your warzones in the bottom bracket and save commendations to purchase Battlemaster and just keep in your vault ready for when you ding 50. This is great news. It allows new 50 to not actually be useless, and pretty much caught up to where most are.

      Don’t be discouraged. Leveling right now to make a 50 is probably the best time to do it. No, end game gear wall. So long as you are buying the gear and saving up.

      “Do scoundrels (both healers and scrappers) have a legitimate place in high level group pvp? You rarely mention them, and at low levels I find the healer quite strong, but the scrapper has very low dps/burst/mobility. I’m considering to cut my losses and reroll a sage or sorc before investing more time in this char.”

      Personally, and this is just personally, I despise Scoundrels in game. RP (even though I shouldn’t care) and gameplay wise. I just cannot stand them. I had an Operative (mirror) at the start of the game. I hated the thing.

      Despite my opinion, Scoundrels are now (I use the liberally) the best healers, number wise. They do drop easy and tend to be first to go. With a guard and balanced group, they are probably the better of the healers. Our one guildmate, pretty good despite the complaints, does nothing but whine about his. Same issues I had with my Operative. All HoTs, only one heal (so interupts are death), no real CC. Those who do enjoy the class, do it well. I just don’t like them.

      Rerolling: Sorc and Sages are not the real flavor of the month anymore. I still like mine. I still prefer the CC and utility of the class, but if I were to reroll on a new server today, meaning my choice of class wasn’t dependant on what I already made on this server, it would probably be the Sentinel/Marauders if I was able to tear myself away from making another Sorc/Sage. Short of a giant nerf bat, Sents are amazing. Just need a macro mouse or learn to use Hotkeys better and you got yourself invinvibility. 1.2 just made it easy mode.

      “On the server I picked, rep loses like 90% of the warzones, and it’s almost impossible to find groups for flash points. Does this tendency continue at 50?”

      Every server is a bit different. On mine. We (republic) are outnumbered heavily. In fact, my guild was originally Sith and didn’t like camping for kills on Ilum, so we rerolled republic to assist. Pre-50, we barely lost a warzone. though outnubmered, we felt the Average palyer on Republic to be more able. Post 50, it is very up and down. Sometimes is back to back wins against Empire most unworthy (I experienced this for almost 3 hours straight last night). Sometimes, almost no one is on and you are up againts the Empire best guild premade over and over. Generally the higher the population your server is, the better mix you will have in warzones.

      Keep in mind the queueing system tries to pair premades againt premades. One of the worst things poeple do, is they group up a bunch of lower geared folks together. They increase their chances to encouter real premades and wonder why they get stomped. At this point, we have quite a few people that will only Queue seperately. Which almost works. Last night, queueing solo, our guild encountered a couple instances where we would get 4 to 6 of us in an instance.

  2. Thanks for the answers, you probably saved me a lot of time and frustration! I made a quick calculation with your suggestion and I’ll definitely change the way I’m leveling:
    – 12500 Commendations needed for full Battlemaster
    – Thats 500 WZ at a 5 medals per warzone rate
    – Each WZ loss gives around 7500xp (3.750.000 total xp)
    So from now on, I’ll forget sidequests and do exclusively WZs and class story.

    • That is what I would do. And that is what I did with my Sage. Class Story, Warzones, Datacrons.

      Keep in mind the commedation cap is 2000. So make sure you are buying your stuff while leveling.

Leave a Reply

