BioWar Makes Up for Dropping the Ball


I see 1.2 as an instance of Huttball. The players take the ball, run the outside like smart people, and BioWare as if it was all planned stood on the edge going, “Throw it to me!” And the player does. The blue crystalized orb floats in the air, a spectrum of blue highlights the floor in a giant circle identifying the area to which the ball should land. And then without warning, BioWare runs away. The ball hits the ground and Baron Deathmark subsequently tells us “Rotworm pass, goes now where fast!”

1.2 is in all, very much this scenario. It takes too long to make, it doesn’t fulfill the promises it made, and gives very little to the end game other than a grindfest for PVP. I like that I have a Battlemaster Lightsaber today at the Valor Rank of 56. I like the realization that it will be a long up hill battle to get into the rest of Battlemaster. I like that I can basically quadruple that time for War Hero. But I miss PVP options already (Ilum) and I’m not found of the wait time for Warzones and I’m not happy to be not cross server queueing with my 8 man in ranked warzones. I am not a happy end game PVPer.

However, I’m not alone. I’m not crazy. I’m not just some nerd who’s uncompromisingly unwilling to accept a patch. I’m not just some blogger who’s endlessly negative. There are always going to be negative people, and adversely, there are always positive people. I cannot decide which is worse. Is it more annoying when a decent patch is met with negativity, or is grossly more frustrating for a player who has a dozen alts, not one level 50, telling you your being too negative on the patch that isn’t delivering much, and breaking promises. I think it’s the latter.

Waiting for the patch to load I followed the site outside of the patch notes. What I found amazed me:

A Free 30 days to all active subscription that had at least one level 50 by patch day.

That may not seem like much. But it speaks volumes to me. You are a big MMO developer. Your PVP population is stating that they are going to leave your game for GW2 scheduled for June, and instead of going, “Welp, let’s get that extra 2 months out of ya, before you go.” They go, “We dropped the PVP ball hard. We promise to don’t do it again.”

To me, this is a big sign of gratitude. And an unexpected move as well. Very welcomed in fact. What means even more to me, is not the subscription, but the promise to make these updates and testing go faster. BioWare promised not let the delay of 1.2 happen again. To get those missing parts in. And to prove that promise, they gave a small token of gratitude. And that’s enough for me to believe them. I’m happy to see BioWare not stand beside failure with pride. And arrogant move I think we are all to use to seeing in our MMO post release patches.

Here’s to 1.3, BioWare. Don’t let GW2 take you down. I think you can do it, despite what I will say about it when we get there.

2 thoughts on “BioWar Makes Up for Dropping the Ball

  1. Always interesting to here different peoples take on the same thing. Elsewhere I hear QQ of the not-50 players in regards to being deemed less valuable.

    • I read them. Overall it probably should have been across the board.

      But that was biowares decision. The point is, will this shunning of non 50 paying customers result in a loss of their subscriptions? Will it do more harm than good?

      My guess yes. I’m seein most players say very similar things. It’s completely unbalanced and they will play the free month and leave. Now those that aren’t 50 are probably not too far off from the same reaction. Just earlier.

      I appreciate it. But it was an odd move. In many cases I think that was the last paying month they should have expected before gw2 release. They just gave that month away.

      We will see though. After June SW will have its real community showing. It will she it’s baby fat in a manner if speaking.

Leave a Reply

