EVE Online: The Universe Changes


I’m an old EVE veteran. But I don’t have much to show for it. In a game that revolves around timed training for skills, I’ve gone about it all the wrong way.

I started like many years ago in the game’s perfect state. The times when EVE was an investment, and the constant fluctuation of game play and the rush to new objectives were in constant sway with real life economy and out of game brokering. I started my character in Gallente space, and quickly found a home with newby friendly anti-pirates out in low-sec Amarr space.

What’s an Anti-Pirate? An Anti-Pirate is a player that invents this rule of ‘fair’ or ‘good’ game play. The rules in low-sec are few, and other than gate/station guns there isn’t much that holds pirates from doing just what their names implies. However, the game system doesn’t recognize anti-pirate. So many of the actions that you take as one are just viewed as criminal by the system as well. A pirate group could be camping a gate, but if you fire first, you’re the criminal.

It’s really a hard and unrewarding life. But I did it for the first 6 months of my gaming in EVE. Loss after loss, lesson after lesson, I learned so much about low-sec fighting.  Unfortunately, all the wrong the way. And in EVE, everything is tracked. Have you had an embarrassing PvP moment? Well, don’t worry, it’s captured for all time for anyone to view whenever they like on a Kill Board. Upon finally realizing that this Anti-Pie life was hard on the wallet and KB success, I found my way into Null Sec Life (0.0). I made great money, and ratted well everyday I was on. With that ratting, was always one or two roaming Reds about that we could pounce on for PvP fun. But time goes on, and things get boring.

Off and on for years I would pop back in; fly about, lose a ship, get pissed off, and set a skill to train for the last month of paid time to play. About 8 months ago, I did a version of this. But to only find my home in 0.0 had been completely taken over by Reds this time around. I found out certain things the hard way. One was, you can’t dock with a corp that doesn’t like you. So make sure you fire sale everything you can’t take. On my first dash for the ‘hell outa here’ run from 0.0, I lost a fully fitted Federation Issue Megathron with the best of the best loat in the cargo. No less, than on the last jump into NPC space to a warp bubble right of 70 KMs off the gate. Of course. They were not up for negotiations, sadly. I was able to get my pod out though, somehow by warping off and taking the long way around the systems. I was able to move out an Ishtar with a Jump Clone located at the station by going completely deeper into the Null Sec and with almost 50 jumps, making it back in to NPC space. Here I am in a station about 5 jumps into 0.0 from the heart of Amarr, but instead I decided that 50+ jumps deeper into 0.0 sec and into the heart of Red, would be better. To me, they must keep the main 3 entry points into this section of Null Sec, but bubbling the gates at all times. But I doubted they do that deep into their space. Heart racing stomach sinking feelings each time I jumped. But went into a giant 0.0 cicrle into Mimintar Space on the border of Angel Cartels. It was then just a matter of another couple dozen jumps back to a low sec area I knew and had some supplies.

I sold what I could I packed up and moved out West (Gallente Space) to participate in something I always wanted to, Faction Warfare. I travelled with my one and only ship, an Ishtar to Orovelle and signed on with the Federation Defense Union (FDU) and went to go buy more ships and equipment. In all the fun, I failed to upgrade my Clone, and in my exploration, I was podded by an Intereptor. This caused me to lose half of Cruiser V. Meaning that I wasn’t able to fly my HAC anymore. FYI, Cruiser V is a Month long training, half is 2 weeks. The CSR response in 3 days time was not very receptive. Upset that I couldn’t fly my only real ship, I logged off once again, after setting the training. And promised not to return this time.

I was never very good at promises. I recently signed back on. And with some luck, found a new home in a militia based corporation that is based with many friendly similar corporations. Each night, these corps either have scheduled or pick-up fleets. There is no lack of PvP. But what is the complete opposite experience of gameplay for me, is the PvP difference. Here in low-sec we hunt for opposite militia players, but we get the advantage over pirates as we don’t take any sec standing loses or worry about gate gun aggression. We have giant slews of players to fight, but with none of the disadvantages. Constant stable action with more than enough to choose from. Best yet, is because of high sec security against War Targets, I can have my PvE Carebear ISK making runs too, safe from invaders (for the most part).

This might be this character’s 4th year of EVE coming up, but the type of gameplay is a completely new experience. If this was the case years ago, I’m not sure I would have ever left EVE in frustration or boredom in the past. And maybe then, I would actually have a character with 4 years of Skill Points, rather than 1.5 years of SPs. Such is it, and to each their own woes to overcome.

Don't you dare try to steal this very very official signature.

18 thoughts on “EVE Online: The Universe Changes

  1. Yeah, CSRs are mostly uncaring about SP loss to getting podded. They very much have a hands-off regard to player created issues. If it’s not a bug of the game itself, or something that you couldn’t fix, I don’t expect much. Sucks to hear about the loss from long ago that broke the camels back.

    Seriously though, I think I need to find a corp like yours, having to constantly rat just to keep my sec status reasonable (and by that, I mean under -3.0), is a real PITA. I’ve been going broke, as in the last three months I’ve lost about 3 caracals, fully fit (about 16+ million each), to Concord as I’ve misguessed the colored-dot of a system, only to find out that it’s 0.9 and not 0.8.

    Relatedly, the new squares with the security status tooltip for each jump on a destination is a GOD-SEND.

    Lastly: great screen-caps. EVE is bar-none, one of the best looking games I’ve ever played. I’m biased toward space though.

    • Yes, yes it is.

      When you are ready, I can get you in with my corp. We are active 1:00 to 7:00 (EVE time) everyday. And even without it, we are friends with every militia corp, even the Euro if you are playing early some days.

      Faction Warfare is where the fun is. No sec status losses. And we mainly stay in low sec. As Squids aren’t in Gall high sec, and we cant go into Caldari high sec.

      And you all of 4 jumps away. And its a good corp with a ton of experience. And the good thing about Militia Warfare is, smaller ships are the way to go. BCs are about as big as it gets. You have to be able to move and roam.

      On terms for the clone and lossing SP. My one point that I want to make to CCP with the appeal, wasn’t that I didn’t know why it happened. It was, I came back from month s away from the game, you would think maybe a pop up or warning that says your clone is out of date would be a good idea. If I had been popped in Null Sec like I should have been, there would have been nothing I could do about clone loss, as I was in unfriendly

  2. Hmmm, this kind of thing makes me want to take a look at EVE. I had never really thought about it as an option before, but if those are actual in-game shots, it looks good!

    Sounds pretty sand-boxy, which is good, but also fairly time-investment-heavy, which isn’t as good. Any thoughts/advice for someone considering jumping in?

    • Oh those are real screen shots. EVE’s graphics are amazing. But just in case a game design artist reads this, you can only detail sides of a ship so much. That is what makes it so beautiful as game. You have an awesome looking background, no terrain in each seciton of space, and all the designer has to worry about is making the ships and the effects look awesome. Graphically the game is amazing, because really, there’s not much to it.

      It is completely sandbox. Players make the universe around it. Time investment is true, but not in the way you think. It’s not time in game, but time itself. For instance, this isn’t WAR, where you needed to spend hours on hours with weeks of weeks redoing ToVL which is what I call time-investment. In EVE your characters are training while you are out of game. So even if you don’t log in for a week, you have been training something for a week.

      You almost look foward to vacations, because it means you’ll more encouraged to train that one ability to level 5 finally, so that when you come back, you get to fly a whole new level of ship.

      As for jumping in: the games always offers a completely free 14 day trial. You can download the client when ever you like, you don’t even have to have an account. When you make an account, its a simple 4 lines of information to fillout, at absolutely no point will you have to have enter any payment information, ever. 14 days absolutely free, without even an exchange of basic information, pretty abnormal and refreshing, no?

      When you get ingame, the tutorial is very helpful, making sure you understand the basics of all basics. The system also uses a multitude of pop ups that ask are you sure, with reasons why you might not want to, to keep you from doing something rash.

      Besides mass guides that can help you through any mission: eve-survival.org
      Or ship loadouts rated over the years from the top players: battleclinic.net

      Battleclinic also has tons of resources of new player guids and extremely detailed suggestions. But because EVE is so vast, its not like you can sit down, read it all, and even think you remember one thing when you get in game. Knowledge is from experience.

      My recommendation, is get in game. Find a ship goal you want to fly. Elite Frigate, Cruisers and train skills to fly that one or two ships well. When you broaden your skill base, you have everything you need … in 6 years. If you got in game, said, I want to be an Electronic Warfare Support Fleet guy, then you find that ship you like and you train towards that. You literally could start today, and by tomorrow I could make you more useful than you realize to any fleet (other than gate camps, but those are ghey anyway).

      What do I train for, if I have no idea? Each item tells you the basic prereqs to use it. Besides that, each item has a recommended Certificate use. Certificates are nothing more than an accomplishment of having certain skills. By using the certificate suggestions of a ship, you’ll know what direction you need to go in. New players definitely can find fun and great game play in EVE coming in now. But it won’t be by conqueroring the world by themselves. It will be by specializing and offering your fleets an advantage. Generally, that is tackle and EW.

      If you couldn’t tell by the long response, I think it’s time for a Mr. Meh guide to getting in EVE. Mr. Meh style. :D

      • Oh, I’m checking it out as soon as I have 14 days relatively uninterrupted, or more specifically, as soon as I have a good block of playtime available. This sounds so awesome, you may have recruited someone (or someones, I’ll see what the guild is thinking too, maybe we’ll move over).

        After you mentioned EW, I’m looking into it, since that looks like it could be a lot of fun if I can do the kind of things I have ideas for in this evil brain of mine ;P.

      • Awww… unless I am very mistaken you CANNOT, in fact, hack into someone else’s ship and shut them down. I am disappoint.

        Oh well, still looks cool!

      • You can steal someones ship, its very unlikely they will jump out of it to do so.

        But as for shutting them down, there are 6 main types of electronic warfare. Most popular is Jamming, that allows you to break the target’s current ability to target. There is also Dampening, which can either increase lock times for targetting, or shorten the range at which they can. There is also Tracking Disruption that helps make turret reactions slower thus making it much easier to dodge. They is Target Painting, that lights up a ship’s sig rad (very useful). Then there is the most common type, Warp Disruption, which keeps you from warping away. And then finally there is Webbing, which slows the enemy ship down extremely.

        Most PvP fittings normally always have atleast a Point(Warp Disruption) and Web. Combine that with another point of Jamming, and yeah, you basically have the ability to near completely disable a ship.

        Also, You can drain capacitor power from enemy ship’s as well. :D

      • Yeah, I’ve been reading up.

        Looks like direct Jammers are mostly the way to go in anything other than null-sec, as opposed to warp disruption. (Don’t remember all names, just that targeted warp jamming seemed to be better than aoe jamming unless you’re fielding a no-warp bubble).

        But I digress… what I WANTED to do before I read about it was to actually remotely hack into another ships computer, and shut them down that way. It’s just a more insidious form of the same things that all the EW things do, but all at once, or selectively as I chose. But, since I can’t do that, I’ll definitely look at either being a tackler or ECM/ECCM mix, something like that.

    • Nope.

      Last year, the changed the intitial skill gain rate for entry level ranks to be much greater. Kind of like a sling shot for new players. I like the idea, but it had to be the worst thing ever if you just got to your 3rd month when they implimented it.

      In the last patch, they removed the learning skills and refunded back the SPs for it. Not sure the purpose, I assume it was to make sure new players were ramping skills that translated into new ships and equipment instead of using their first month to learn … learning.

      But, nope, its all Skill Point learning based. SP gain is based on time with variances based on your attributes. And then skills themselves have multipliers. That way rare or unique skills take longer to train than core or more basic ones.

      • Also: with removal of learning skills, they increased everyone’s base stats – thus decreasing everyone’s training times across the board no matter your training regime. I believe they lowered the SP limit for the advanced learning for new characters.

        As to our above conversation: I may hit you up on your corp this weekend if I don’t see some more activity in mine soon. I’m broke as hell, but I have a fully named/T2-fit Merlin I’ve been doing L1s for after splurging all my money on a Manticore and repurchasing yet another Caracal I let concord blow up when I accidently flew into 0.9 space.

      • You know, when I was typing the above about my Caracal, there was a voice in my head saying “I feel like I’ve typed this before”, and so, when I scroll up and read my first comment, whadya know? I had!?

        /facepalm

      • Ha Ha.

        I saw you log in and off a couple times last night, but didn’t have the chance to say hi. Action was instense, I was busy either running to catch action or running to stay alive. I ussually hate Worm Hole hopping, but that was fun.

        As for ISK and Sec Status. Though slightly dangerous, Ratting the NPCs in the Astroid Belts is going to do more for your Sec Status quicker. As well the bounty rewards and loot will probably sell to give you more ISK. Good news is a Cruiser that can orbit fast enough is easily going to be able to take on BCs and BSs with enough DPS, the disadvantage is Pies looking for people doing that.

        I prefer Missioning, but that because I like my PVE peaceful and the Loyality Point Rewards do a lot for me. In my old days in 0.0, my main source of income was Ratting.

  3. My internet connection is complete shit of late. I’ve had DSL for the last year, and it was the worst decision I ever made. I’ve been on the phone with techincal service every three months or so for the last year trying to deal with it. Their only option is to send out a tech. If the problem is anything other than a faulty modem or bad lines leading up to my house, I get hit with a $100 fine.

    Essentially they can say, “You have no way of disproving me when I say it’s your house-wiring that is the problem. So it is. Please pay me now, and no, I will not be fixing your problem.”

    But yeah, it causes me to constantly lag out of the game, and I just quit when it gets too frustrating.

  4. So … no challenge what so ever?

    How a game involves. It starts with, OMG, you’ll never wear this unless you truly work your ass off and coordinate your realm. To> thanks for paying, here’s some loot.

Leave a Reply

